What's on my PSP?

The PSP is a great console, with a huge library of its own, but there are a lot of other things to enjoy on it, and I decided to write once again and talk about the homebrew, plugins and programs I got on mine.

I am very far behind on my quota of blog content, so I wanted to make a blog today since I got some free time and have managed to overcome my laziness for a little bit, maybe 400 words or so. An internet friend of mine, @jp has managed to get a hand on a PSP, and has written a couple articles about it. I promised him to write about some of my favorite games and tools that Iā€™ve used in my journey, after owning a PSP for the last 11 years and getting as much juice out of it as I can.

Games

There is a huge library of games native for the PSP, and Iā€™ve played quite a lot of them. From original, exclusive titles, to ports identical to home consoles such as the PS2 and PS3. And of course, native support for a ton of PS1 games, with official releases and the option to port title to the console, with varying degrees of success. Here are some of the games I have.

PSP Games

The PSP uses the .iso format on his games, that usually come packaged into UMDs, this little disk is the storage medium chosen by Sony for his handheld, and it kinda sucks. Thankfully, once you mod a PSP, it is very easy to extract your ISO files, and they are also easy to come across if you sail the seven seas, I very much implore you to avoid doing that since Sony may get poor and run out of money to produce high quality products like the Play Station Portal, you know?

Anyway, I got my games on a microSD card, thanks to a memory stick adaptor, very cheap and easy to get, I canā€™t say Iā€™ve played every single one of them, I recently removed quite a bit of games I had completed already, such as Ys Seven, Jeanne Dā€™Arc and a few I canā€™t remember, here is a list with the ones currently in my device:

Games I am not currently playing, but they're there
  • Crimson Gem Saga
  • Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII
  • Dante's Inferno
  • Echochrome
  • Exit
  • Final Fantasy IV The Complete Collection
  • Killzone Liberation
  • Mega Man Powered Up
  • Patapon 2
  • Rengoku 2: The Stairway to H.E.A.V.E.N
  • Star Wars The Force Unleashed
  • Tales of Eternia
  • Wipeout Pure

PS1 Games

When it comes to PS1 games things change a little, most of them are JRPGs or Resident Evil, channels like The Sphere Hunter and others got me into a Resident Evil craze, and I came across Parasite Eve in 2018, even read the novel. Regardless, I still havenā€™t finished any of them, despite the amount of media Iā€™ve consumed about them. Hereā€™s the list:

Games I am not currently playing, but they're there
  • Aconcagua
  • Chrono Cross
  • Final Fantasy VIII
  • Final Fantasy XI
  • Legend of Dragoon
  • Parasite Eve II
  • Resident Evil 1 DC
  • Resident Evil 2
  • Silent Hill

Homebrew Games

Emulators

I found a pretty complete list of emulators you can check here. I donā€™t play every single system so here are the ones I have installed myself:

Homebrew Tools

Plugins

Conclusion

This took me a lot longer than I expected, I feel like I could have done a single article for many of the things I wrote today. Regardless, I am happy I finally did it. Its been fun to write something again, even if it took me a while to get back into it.

My psp still rocking in 2023
My psp still rocking in 2023

This is day 54 of #100DaysToOffload

Comments

If you have something to say, leave a comment, or contact me āœ‰ļø instead

Reply via email Load comments
Reply via Fediverse

You can reply on any Fediverse (Mastodon, Pleroma, etc.) client by pasting this URL into the search field of your client:

https://fosstodon.org/@joel/110964972832551466