Nintendo Switch

Since I got my Nintendo Switch, I have played a bunch of games and I have had a lot of fun, so I wanted to share my thoughts on it after a couple months of use.

I still remember the day the original Nintendo Switch came out. I only had my PSP and I saw no possible future where I would actually be able to own one, if I was gonna buy anything it would be a new phone or a new laptop, I didn’t have money to get a Switch and even if I had it, getting any game for it would be pretty difficult. And despite all that, the impossible, happened!

Thankfully, a few months ago, it was finally possible! Since July of this year I’ve been the proud owner of a Nintendo Switch OLED, Tears of the Kingdom edition! Yes, pretty much a single game (and a very decent salary from my internship) gave me the push I needed to own my very first console acquired with my own money.

Additionally, I have a lot of good friends who own Nintendo Switch game cards, and its been a lot of fun, because I get to borrow their single player games and enjoy them without much worries, since they already played them I am also free to take my time with them.

The system itself is great, I bought a transparent case for it that makes the joycons easier to hold in handheld mode, since ergonomics were one of the complaints people have with the console and I could feel the pain during the first few days too. I eventually got a 3rd party controller that made the experience lot more comfortable as well.

After a while its been all fantastic. Besides the games I’ve borrowed. I also bought my own games in physical format, and I even acquired some digital games.

All the games I’ve played look absolutely awesome in the OLED screen, and I was surprised at how nicely they all play. Yes, there are some hiccups here and there in some areas in some games. The hardware was already outdated when it came out, but the optimizations done by Nintendo and some notable developers are commendable. Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak runs buttery smooth and it looks absolutely wonderful, for example.

My Nintendo Switch, currently playing Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak
My Nintendo Switch, currently playing Monster Hunter Rise Sunbreak

When it comes to indie games, the story is even better. There are so many great games, and they run perfectly, since they’re not as demanding as Triple A titles. Also they are pretty much discounted all the time in the eShop. This is a minefield for me, I’ve already bought like 5 games that I have barely played. So I decided to at least wait until Christmas to see if discounts are even better then.

I am not a fan of digital media, I know I just said there are some great deals on the Nitendo eShop, but I still feel uneasy about it, where will my library go, the money I spent, in 6 or 8 years? Its one of the caveats that worry me quite a bit.

Especially because there are more and more rumors regarding a “Nitendo Switch 2” that may make my console obsolete. If the Switch was easy to crack I would not care at all, I am very much into modding, rooting and doing whatever to devices I own. However, there are still many risks that I don’t know if I’m willing to take.

For now, I just want to enjoy what I have. I am still playing a ton and having a great time. Honestly my purchase was worth it purely because of the 40 hours I’ve played on Breath of the Wild so far.

If my PSP has lasted me for 13 years, I don’t see why I can’t do the same with my Switch! Now that I think about it, if a next-gen console comes out, Switch games may get cheaper! There are so many of them out there, and stores will want to make space for the new titles, so maybe it won’t be as bad as I fear. I remain hopeful.

This is post 67 of #100DaysToOffload

Comments

If you have something to say, leave a comment, or contact me ✉️ instead

Reply via email Load comments
Reply via Fediverse

You can reply on any Fediverse (Mastodon, Pleroma, etc.) client by pasting this URL into the search field of your client:

https://fosstodon.org/@joel/111197435506523995