WebP conversion and code highlighting

I had been careless about image formats on my website, but I decided to put some work and convert them all to WebP. Also, I got the Nord color scheme to work on my code!

When I started this website I actually tried for a while to compress my images whenever I used them for a blogpost or something, but at some point I stopped caring about it. Even when I talked about image management with Jekyll I didn’t even mentioned using WebP, but simple ImageMagick commands.

Converting images to WebP

I decided to fix that today, by installing the WebP tools provided by Google, and available in some repos (not Fedora, for some reason) and with some very simple bash scripts which pretty much did this:

$IMGFILES="/path/to/assets"
$POSTS="/path/to/posts"

for f in $FILES
do
  echo "Processing $f file..."
  # take action on each file. $f store current file name
  .jpg -q 85 "$f" -o "${f%.*}.jpg";
  #cat "$f"
done

sed -i 's/.jpg/.jpg/g' $POSTS/*
sed -i 's/.png/.jpg/g' $POSTS/*

I would not recommend running this script. I actually had to take care of some posts that mentioned .png or .jpg somewhere without actually using an image, such as other scripts and stuff like that. I also had some images that were in other subfolders and such, so this took a couple extra minutes.

It really was nothing special though, the changes were done pretty quickly and now my website is overall lighter than before, which I guess its a good thing.

I was quite inspired by this post by Bradley Taunt, so go check him out too, although you probably already know him if you are into web development and such.

Enabling Code Highlighting on my website

Also, as you might have noticed on the code snipped above, I finally got code hightlighting to work. I had enabled it a long time ago, since its not really a hard feature to add to Jekyll, but all this time I never bothered to setup the CSS file, since I could not find one available, even though there are other ones. But I came across this repo and got it working, I had to pip install pygments and then run the instructions in the repo. To generate the CSS file I also ran this:

pygmentize -S nord -f html -a .highlight

You can pipe that into a CSS file, or paste it to your already existing file if you are lazy like me.

I am so happy I took the time to do this since now my coding blogs are going to look a lot better, which is awesome. Sadly I have to manually check which code snippets do not define which language is used, since those are not gonna get colored. That’s a job for future me, I guess. If you check any post without syntax highlighting let me know by contacting me!

Comments

If you have something to say, leave a comment, or contact me βœ‰οΈ instead

Reply via email Load comments
Reply via Fediverse

You can reply on any Fediverse (Mastodon, Pleroma, etc.) client by pasting this URL into the search field of your client:

https://benign.town/@joel/108563304562342746