I went for a run today

Today I woke up early and decided to go running and test out GadgetBridge + FitoTrack

Yesterday a friend challenged me to wake up early and go for a run at 6:00 am, I decided to accept his invitation and try to also test out my smartband’s fitness tracking functionality, which is handled using GadgetBridge and FitoTrack.

GB can send heart rate information to FitoTrack, which allows me to get more stats, which are always fun to see.

This will be a short post that is just going to help me fill the bill required for my #100DaysToOffload challenge, so I won’t really fo into any detail or anything.

I don’t know if I will keep running so early, since its pretty cold outside, and I have some trouble getting out of bed since its so comfy during these times of the year, but I will try and keep it up, at least until I give up on it again.

I’ve been considering working out for a while already, but I struggle to commit and actually try to be better. But hey, maybe this year I will finally do it.

I really like how I am able to use my Mi Band 4 without the need of Mi Fit or any other proprietary app, I can even change the watchface and stuff like that, as long as I have the .bin file required for it. I can use AmazFaces website to get them and apply them with the app.

Another cool thing I did not know how to fix was getting weather notifications back. Before my cusomt ROM based on Lineage had native integration, but since I switched, I ended up having some trouble, until I checked out the Wiki and noticing there were apps that allowed me to get the functionality back.

The only thing missing from the official app is a “Find my phone” ring sound. For some reason GadgetBridge only sends a simple notification which does not play if I have muted my device, enabling and disabling sound does not work either, so maybe I should submit an issue on Codeberg.

Anyways, I had a good time, a bit tired, but alright, this has been day 70 of #100DaysToOffload

Comments

If you have something to say, leave a comment, or contact me ✉️ instead

Reply via email Load comments
Reply via Fediverse

You can reply on any Fediverse (Mastodon, Pleroma, etc.) client by pasting this URL into the search field of your client:

https://fosstodon.org/@joel/107536585656946072