Graphical settings that break things

Linux still has some work to do with the Desktop experience for the average user, trying to change some Region settings in my KDE desktop broke my whole workflow. But it really isn't hard to fix

A few days ago I noticed a really annoying setting in Dolphin, KDE’s default file manager. I noticed that the date format was not YYYY-MM-DD, which I tend to prefer. It looks like I can’t change that in Dolphin’s own settings, but only via Plasma’s System Settings.

I switched to Fedora a couple weeks ago, and decided to go with the KDE spin, and use as many KDE apps as I could. I really like Dolphin, now that the dependencies, which can be annoying when using XFCE or a GTK desktop, are not really a problem since they all come built-in.

The only way to change the date format is by changing the System’s region settings, there are a lot of formats but I could not find what I wanted, after some time I had to give up, what a shame.

At a later point I realized that some of my apps were not working properly. Rofi would not launch with my shortcuts, Khard and Khal were showing errors. And it was due to these I realized that my locale settings were a mess. So basically my KDE settings broke my app launcher and email setup, which was pretty annoying.

Of course, all I really had to do to fix this was export the locale environment variables in my .bash_profile file and call it a day. But how is it that simple things like that can still be so messy? The Linux Desktop experience still has a long way to go.

Comments

If you have something to say, leave a comment, or contact me ✉️ instead

Reply via email Load comments
Reply via Fediverse

You can reply on any Fediverse (Mastodon, Pleroma, etc.) client by pasting this URL into the search field of your client:

https://benign.town/@joel/108453708403017599