Creating my own theme for FreshRSS

So the default dark themes in FreshRSS did not convince me, so I decided to create my own.

This is going to be a simple post, because most of the effort I would put into writing something already went into editing some CSS files, therefore I’ll write something quick explaining how it went.

As I said before, none of the dark themes included with FreshRSS were of my liking, they were a bit too warm, almost sepia, and, as a fan of Nord’s color scheme, I wanted something colder and more blue-ish. I decided I would try and make my own theme, using a similar base to my blog’s CSS.

Due to how FreshRSS works, I couldn’t just slap my CSS file in there, I had to go and edit some classes and id’s from the HTML elements that looked wrong, overlapped each other or I just felt like changing a bit.

I also had to go ahead and edit the icons, which were a but of vector based files, I just changed the fill property according to my needs.

There is still a lot of work that needs to be put into this, but I think the desktop version is already quite good, and there are only some simple glitches that I could not figure out, maybe it will need some refactoring, but I guess I’ll just open source it and let somebody who wishes to put more effort into it help me.

You can find the repository here if you wish to install it yourself or help out too!

If you don’t have GitHub or don’t want to use it, feel free to use git send-email too, I don’t mind. You can see my theme in action here:

If you want to know how to apply it here is a quick guide:

This has been day 81 of #100DaysToOffload

Comments

If you have something to say, leave a comment, or contact me ✉️ instead

Reply via email Load comments
Reply via Fediverse

You can reply on any Fediverse (Mastodon, Pleroma, etc.) client by pasting this URL into the search field of your client:

https://fosstodon.org/@joel/107610635245854750